LISTEN: Stream the New Game of Thrones Mixtape, Catch the Throne


HBO series Game of Thrones is in its third season right now. Every season of this American fantasy drama has earned a Primetime Emmy Award nomination for Outstanding Drama Series. After witnessing the show’s consecutive popularity, they have engaged in the creation of a soundtrack for the ever-popular show.


Launch Point Records is producing this album, entitled Catch the Throne: The Mixtape. This ten track release features well known artists like Big Boi, Common, Wale, and Kilo Kish. The album is quite a unique one, as each song contains a sample of the music from the Game of Throne’s original soundtrack.

In a related mxdwn story, Big Boi’s song is said to detail “Khaleesi’s rise to the Iron throne, while taking jabs at the Lannister clan.” His multiple references to characters and specific events in the song is just one example from the album which was created with an incredibly finite purpose. Since Outkast member, Big Boi, is a dedicated fan of the famed bloodthirsty show, he was able to truly appreciate what this album means to the show’s fans. Taking the artists’ vocals and placing them over the sample music from the shows themselves, these musicians are creating a hybrid animal for all to enjoy.

As the fourth season of the Game of Thrones quickly approaches, this soundtrack will surely build the hype for that April 6 show.

Catch the Throne: A Mixtape
01. Mother of Dragons
02. Iron Throne
03. Win or Die
04. Magical Reality
05. Born to Rule
06. Arya’s Prayer
07. The Parallel
08. Fire
09. The Ladder
10. King Slayer


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s